Sufficient unto the day is the evil thereof

My Prescience

In Journalism, Latin America on March 9, 2009 at 9:53 pm
Shining Path

Shining Path

Following my fortune telling regarding the fate of French immigrant policy, I discovered that my otherworldly ability to see into the future soldiers on. Five years ago, in a post I titled “Shine On, You Crazy Diamond,” I asserted that Peru’s Shining Path guerillas, though proclaimed to be on their last legs, were most assuredly not. I attempted to query this but no publications were interested. Within the last week, multiple news organizations have begun to report on the Shining Path’s resurgency.

What’s the point that I’m trying to make? Just this: I see all, I know all.

  1. Curt,

    And I thought I called this one early on–nowhere near your degree of prescience…

    I’m in the process of writing the third in a series of geopolitical thrillers, one that uses SL as a backstory and a modern-day resurgence.

    I’ve been following Fuji’s trials by the CVR. Interesting stuff.

    Question: Past estimates of the victims of SL were pegged at 69,000. New evidence concludes that up to half of these casualties were at the hands of the Peruvian Army. What is your take on the possibility of the death toll rising, and the percentage of deaths attributable to the army increasing?

    Saludos.

    guero

  2. Guero: Sounds like an interesting topic for a book. But as to your question, I’m afraid I don’t have enough information to make a more educated assessment than you already have.

Leave a Reply

