Sufficient unto the day is the evil thereof

What You Can’t Do Online

In Communications, Real Life, Social media on September 5, 2007 at 2:30 am

I think the electronic tools of communication, publishing and interaction are just great. I use them a lot for my nonprofit work, in my writing life and the strategic use of them has become my work.

But there is simply no way to achieve electronic mimesis of pulling into a colonial Salvadoran town on a Sunday, walking, accompanied by an ex-assassin, into a Beirut-like sidestreet lined with broad, brown women and their men cooking over barrels, buying a pupusa revuelta and eating it, leaning against the chalky wall.

That’s what Life is for.

  1. Well, that sure limits its use in my SAP Global Survey.

  2. What? I don’t know what you mean, Shel.

Leave a Reply

