Sufficient unto the day is the evil thereof

Latest News: The Blogs Must Be Crazy, etc.

In Blogging, Blogsafer, Committee to Protect Bloggers, Granada, Gypsies, Projects, Spain on June 10, 2006 at 5:17 pm
  1. I’m readying myself to go out to Washington D.C. and speak to C.I.A. and State Department intelligence types at the Meridian House about blogging and democracy. My point of view? It’s a good idea. I should slap something together so as to not be completely unprepared. I’m thinking along the lines of a bunch of foul-mouthed revolutionary puppets doing skits about blogging.
  2. We did our first podcast over at Blogswana, which we’re calling “The Blogs Must Be Crazy.”
  3. It’s an adjustment not to be running the Committee to Protect Bloggers anymore. The host, Civiblog, restored the site’s posts temporarily, but they’re down again. Hard to complain since I’m not keeping it current, though I think it’s not a bad resource even if it’s not being updated. I get frustrated, though, each time there’s a new arrest of a blogger somewhere. Global Voices Online is planning an advocacy arm. They’re certainly competent. I hope their sense of diplomacy doesn’t keep them from the bold moves that are sometimes necessary to attract attention to the plight of these bloggers.
  4. Finally, I’m working Petia Maximova and her intrepid band as the writer for a documentary on the Gypsies of Granada, Spain, something I’ve long been interested in. I’m excited about the possibilities. The people involved seem very energetic and Petia has good film connections, so we’ll see what happens. She’s in Granada now and will hopefully meet up with my old friend Manolin, a Gypsy, and Sokari, a Nigerian blogger living in Granada now whom I know through Global Voices. If you’re in Granada and would like to meet her for a drink, let me know and I’ll pass your contact information along.

That’s all for now.

, , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

