Sufficient unto the day is the evil thereof

Interactive News Map

In Journalism on May 26, 2006 at 3:41 pm

Via Sokari at Black Looks, I came across a very cool global News Map by Muti in South Africa.

News Map is a mashup of Google Maps and Yahoo Search. You click on a regional tab and a map is displayed. Click on a country on that map and the latest news headlines appear in a clickable list on the side. They even sub-divide in such a way that you can click individual states in the United States map, which is great, especially if, like I do, you live in The Greatest State in the Union.*

I wish, however, that they would provide a plugin that would allow you to post the mashup in your sidebar. What an excellent alternative to straight news feeds.

Tags: , , , ,

*Oregon, of course. Sheesh.

  1. Thanks for your mention and kind words of News Map. I am currently adding all the US states and as you mention Oregon is already there. I intend to add several of Africa’s geographical features as well, for example, Lake Victoria, Mount Kiliminjaro etc. I may also add major cities at a later date as well.

    Regards

  2. No problem. I’d also like to see Wales as clickable, separate from the U.K. If you do create a plugin to put a linky thing in the sidebar, please let me know. I’ll use it both here and in http://blogswana.wordpress.com.

  3. Hi Curt

    I am not too sure what you mean by a sidebar plugin, but if you contact me through the muti feedback (http://muti.co.za/feedback) form and supply your email address then I will contact you offline about it.

    Regards

Leave a Reply

