Sufficient unto the day is the evil thereof

Conference on Blogs

In Blogging on May 15, 2006 at 11:09 pm

Well, it turns out I will not be a panelist at the NetSquared Conference, as the funding for my trip turned out to be unavailable. However, I will be a panelist at the Conference on Blogs and the Spread of Democracy, speaking on the “Beyond the Blogosphere” panel.

The conference will take place on July 13 and 14th at the Meridian International Center in Washington, D.C. It’s sponsored by the U.S. Department of State, the Director of National Intelligence/Central Intelligence Agency’s Open Source Center and the Global Futures Project.

I’ll be there as the founder of the now-defunct Committee to Protect Bloggers, (the old Blogspot site is still available at committeetoprotectbloggers.blogspot.com), co-creator of the Zimbabwean democracy super-blog, Enough is Enough and the director of BlogSafer, the anonymous blogging wiki. But most importantly for me, I will be representing Blogswana, a blogging-for-others project in the African country of Botswana, where I am co-director.

I am ever-so-slightly wigged since it’s a State Department/C.I.A.-sponsored event and most of what I have done online has been apolitical because, among other reasons, it’s been the only way to dial in all the people who should be involved, people who are very pro-U.S., very criticial of America and everything in between. However, it’s also an opportunity to speak directly to people that my country relies on to create and implement policy. Also, and perhaps most importantly, it’s so fucking weird I can hardly stand it.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Cross-posted to Blogswana.

  1. hi Curt,

    Thanks for the link to ‘Global Trends 2015: A Dialogue About the Future …’ Scroll to the bottom for the Appendix on four alternative scenarios for the future. I’ve printed off the 98 page pdf for a closer look. Important reading for anyone who is interested in the future.

  2. Hey Bill, thanks for the feedback. This should be quite a learning experience for me. My father, career Navy, thinks it’s fantastic of course. I think primarily it will be weird. But I get to meet Ammar in person finally, the Syrian poet who runs The Tharwa Project.

Leave a Reply

